//
you're reading...
News, Student Debt

“Student Loan company sent my file to debt collectors”

“I paid £2,000 to my student loan in May 2000. They told me it was the final settlement figure but then said I owed more. I phoned and they said their records showed I had agreed to pay a further £2,100 in July but then admitted I was correct. I heard nothing more and moved house in 2004.

In April this year I learned there was mail addressed to me at the old property. A collection agency has added £800 interest to the debt and says I now owe £3,098. If I genuinely owe money I will pay it but I dispute the interest charge because I have had no contact from Student Loans for 11 years.”

Read more: http://www.guardian.co.uk/money/2011/jul/09/student-loans-company-debt-collectors

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

